Spring 2021 Seminars

Spring 2021 semester seminars will be online via Webex on Fridays at 3:30 pm.

Time & Place Speaker Title Host

Friday, January 22, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Suazette Mooring

Georgia State University

“From General Chemistry to Biochemistry: Students’ Ideas About Acid-equilibrium Concepts.” Dr. Samer Gozem

Friday, January 29, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Matthias Waegele

Boston College

“Elucidating the Molecular Origins of the Product Selectivity of Electrocatalytic Reactions.” Dr. Samer Gozem

Friday, February 5, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Huw Davies

Emory University

“Catalyst Controlled C-H Functionalization.” Dr. Kostiantyn O Marichev

Friday, February 12, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Jeremy Mills

Arizona State University

“Rational Design of Fluorescent Biosensors Using Non-canonical Amino Acids.”

 

Dr. Jun Yin

Friday, February 19, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Liming Zhang

UC Santa Barbara

“Gold Catalysis in Asymmetric Transformations: From Metal-Ligand Cooperation to Stereoselective Glycosylation.”

 

Dr. Kostiantyn O Marichev

Friday, February 26, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Ginger Schultz

University of Michigan

“The Development of Expertise in Structure Elucidation using NMR Spectroscopy.” Dr. Suazette Mooring

Friday, March 5, 2021

Online: Webex

 Dr. Raphael Franzini

University of Utah

“DNA-Encoded Chemical Libraries: Of Needles and Haystacks.” Dr. Binghe Wang

Friday, March 12, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Uttam Tambar

UT Southwestern Medical Center

“Stereoselective Functionalization of Unsaturated Hydrocarbons.” Dr. Kostiantyn O Marichev

Friday, March 19, 2021

 

SPRING BREAK SPRING BREAK SPRING BREAK

Friday, March 26, 2021

 

STEM Conference STEM Conference STEM Conference

Friday, April 2, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Mentewab Ayalew

Spelman College

“A Link Between Antibiotic Resistance and Metal Uptake in the Model Plant Arabidopsis.” Dr. Dabney Dixon

Friday, April 9, 2021

 

CGSA SYMPOSIUM CGSA SYMPOSIUM CGSA SYMPOSIUM

Friday, April 16, 2021

Online: Webex

 Dr. Allan Gamble

University of Otago

“Building Linkers for Bioorthogonal Click-to-Release Strategies.” Dr. Binghe Wang

Friday, April 23, 2021

Online: Webex

Dr. Alejandro Bugarin

Florida Gulf Coast University

“Triazabutadienes: Photoinduced Synthesis of Anilides, Bisaryls, and Other Useful Building Blocks.”

 

Dr. Kostiantyn O Marichev