Awards and Honors

Patrick Gaulden from Gangli Wang’s group has been awarded a prestigious summer research fellow by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internship (SULI) program.

Noa Erlitzki has received the 2016 Goldwater Scholarship Program Honorable Mention Award.  Noa has been in Dr. Gregory Poon’s lab since May 2015, starting as an MBD summer research fellow. She is currently carrying out transcription factor research.

Dr. Giovanni Gadda has been elected to serve on editorial board of BBA – Proteins and Proteomics. As an editorial board member, he will be helping to maintain and improve the journal standards by monitoring the editorial policy of the journal in terms of scope and the level and quality of papers published.

Sarah Laughlin, an MBD graduate student in Dr. David Wilson’s group, recently wrote an invited journal review article and her paper was selected by the International Journal for Molecular Sciences for the cover art of a special issue.  Sarah was also recently selected by the American Chemical Society to receive a travel award to attend the spring national meeting of the American Chemical Society and present her research.

Chemistry Ph.D. student Crystal Smitherman has received the Jeremy Knowles Travel Award at the 2015 Gordon Research Conference on Enzymes, Coenzymes and Metabolic Pathways.  To view the article in its entirety, click here.

Erica Lewis, who earned her masters degree from Georgia State University’s Department of Chemistry, was named a finalist to compete for Chemistry Championship Title in Boston.

Georgia State University Geoscience Alum, Laura Zaunbrecher (Ph.D in Chemistry with concentration in Geoscience, 2013) published an article, which was based on her dissertation, in The Journal of Physical Chemistry.  Laura was not only published in the April 2015 edition, but one of her figures from the article was featured on the cover.

Dr. Ivaylo Ivanov received a 5-year, $1.675 million federal grant from NIH to study link between DNA replication & repair to cancer susceptibility and inheritable genetic diseases. For more details, click here.

Drs. Joan Comar and Jyotsna Thota have been awarded with the Digital Champion Fellowship from GSU’s Center for Instructional Innovation. The Digital Champion Fellowship program supports faculty in implementing innovative models of instruction, such as creating online or partially online courses, implementing flipped classroom models, or incorporating active learning into a course using technology. To read more about the Digital Champion Fellowship, click here.

Dr. Al Baumstark is being honored for his mission to recognize the need for diversity in the area of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.  Chemistry faculty and alumni have endowed the Al Baumstark Award in Chemistry, supporting minority and female students pursuing doctoral degrees.  To read the article on the Al Baumstark Award in Chemistry, click here.

Dr. Hao Xu has been selected as a recipient of the 2015 CAPA Biomatik Distinguished Junior Faculty Award.  The award committees received a large number of nominations and each award winner was chosen from a pool of outstanding candidates. The CVs of the award winners will be available on the CAPA website.

Dr. Giovanni Gadda has been named one of six Distinguished University Professors. Georgia State University began naming Distinguished University Professors last year, as a way of honoring faculty members who have consistently excelled in teaching and in research or creative work. In fact, no more than five percent of all faculty members may hold the title at any given time.

The College will host a workshop for all students completing a thesis or dissertation. Summer Workshop is Friday, June 15th at 10 am in Aderhold 5.

Lu Huo has published an invited review article in Bioorganic Chemistry. The following is the web link. (July, 2012)

Juan Liu published in Langmuir under Dr. Wang’s direction, the following is the link: (January, 2012)

Notable Accomplishments of Our Students in Prior Years

Dr. Binghe Wang has received an award from Shandong province, China, in recognition of his contributions to science and technology through collaborations with Shandong University (October, 2012).

Dr. Hao Xu sponsored by Sigma-Aldrich and Agilent for distinguished lectures  in 2012 and will be sponsored for a distinguished lecture in 2013 (January, 2013).

Dr. Maged Henary sponsored by CEM for a distinguished lecture (January, 2013).

Dr. Peng George Wang received a major new NIH grant on “Research and Development of a Novel System to Produce Polysaccharide Vaccines.” (September 2012).

Dr. Barbara Baumstark (Professor of Biology) has received official notice that her GAANN Fellowship application to the Department of Education has been awarded. Many Chemistry faculty members contributed to this application as Co-PIs:  Donald Hamelberg, Alfonse Baumstark, and Davon Kennedy.(September 2012).